Undevoured (Updated Version)

Save our souls by Jenny Meehan
Save our souls by Jenny Meehan

Tempestuous waves hurl me against the crags

They tug me back into the thalassic depths of uncertainty and darkness 

Only to toss me back again

Again and again–each time a little harder and fiercer

Into the jagged face of the precipice

Leaving me afloat–battered and bruised

Like a bloated fish in a tank

I’m not dead. Not yet.

Face up, I stare into the serenity of the azure sky

Unachievable–out of my grasp, it taunts me

While I lie on the vile, monstrous water–

Undead, Undrowned and Undevoured

At the mercy of the pelagic landscape

With squally nightmares whipping its borders

I’m not dead. Not yet.

I gulp down the available oxygen which my body craves

Mouthfuls of briny liquor quench my thirst

They burn my eyes; the liquid seeps into my lungs

My air-bags full of water–lethal and menacing

Swirling whirlpools of saline destruction move inside me

My vision gets dim–dimmer with each passing second

But I’m not dead. Not yet.

18 thoughts on “Undevoured (Updated Version)”

      1. Na na. Nothing like that. Sometimes, even I feel the same. The words are becoming fancier day by day. Actually, I keep coming across these words in my books, and I can’t help myself, but use them. But, next wala…aapke liye. Sacchi. πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Literally your thoughts are like my carbon copy lol when I started writing pehle. .I did the same like this but then few of my friends always complained ..I kept telling myself it’s the way I like it but then steadily seeing all the writers like Rm drake, Samantha king and everyone else was just being their selves so now that just changed my Pov.
        P.s: I just poured my heart out here lol don’t mind πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, that doesn’t matter! That was great. Only because I experienced it, I could understand your poem so well! That is how I see painful experiences. Because only then I can understand others and their pain! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Reading you is always enriching the vocabulary with great meanings. And that’s where the best part lies. And the concept, I feel like I’m floating in heaven. ☺😍 Sorry if I sound cheesy πŸ™ˆ but I can’t help appreciating you. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

